High Performance Computing (184.725) - Sommersemester 2018

Lecturers

Plan

Lecture with practical project part (VU).

Overview

An overview of "High Performance Computing". Advanced MPI, efficient algorithms for MPI collectives on networks. Communication networks and routing. Performance and energy models, libraries, benchmarks, tools, and parallel file systems

Lectures, material

  1. Monday, 05.03.2018: Vorbesprechung (Träff)
  2. Monday, 12.03.2018: Intro, overview of HPC architectures and problems (Träff)
  3. Monday, 19.03.2018: Roofline Model (Hunold)
  4. Thursday, 22.03.2018: Measuring Performance and Data Analysis (Hunold)
  5. Monday, 26.03.2018: no lecture (holiday)
  6. Monday, 02.04.2018: no lecture (holiday)
  7. Monday, 09.04.2018: Advanced MPI 1/5 (Träff)
  8. Monday, 16.04.2018: Advanced MPI 2/5 (Träff)
  9. Monday, 23.04.2018: MPI Benchmarking (Hunold)
  10. Monday, 30.04.2018: Advanced MPI 3/5 (Träff)
  11. Monday, 07.05.2018: Advanced MPI 4/5 (Träff)
  12. Monday, 14.05.2018: Advanced MPI 5/5 (Träff)
  13. Monday, 28.05.2018: Profiling and Tracing in MPI 1/2 (Hunold)
  14. Monday, 11.06.2018: Profiling and Tracing in MPI 2/2 (Hunold)
  15. Monday, 18.06.2018: Benchmarks and Libraries in HPC (Hunold)
  16. Monday, 25.06.2018: MPI+X (Hunold)

Exercises/projects

Project assignments will be announced during the semester and will be made available on TUWEL.

Additional references and literature