High Performance Computing (184.725) - Wintersemester 2018

Lecturers

Plan

Lecture with practical project part (VU).

Overview

An overview of "High Performance Computing". Advanced MPI, efficient algorithms for MPI collectives on networks. Communication networks and routing. Performance and energy models, libraries, benchmarks, tools, and parallel file systems

Lectures, material

  1. Monday, 01.10.2018: no lecture due to Beginners' Day
  2. Monday, 08.10.2018: Preliminaries and Introduction (Träff)
  3. Monday, 15.10.2018: HPC Overview (Träff)
  4. Monday, 22.10.2018: Roofline Model (Hunold)
  5. Monday, 29.10.2018: Measuring Performance and Data Analysis (Hunold)
  6. Monday, 05.11.2018: Advanced MPI 1/5 (Träff)
  7. Monday, 12.11.2018: Advanced MPI 2/5 (Träff)
  8. Monday, 19.11.2018: Advanced MPI 3/5 (Träff)
  9. Monday, 26.11.2018: MPI Benchmarking (Hunold)
  10. Monday, 03.12.2018: Advanced MPI 4/5 (Träff)
  11. Monday, 10.12.2018: Advanced MPI 5/5 (Träff)
  12. Monday, 17.12.2018: MPI Profiling and Tracing (Hunold)
  13. Monday, 24.12.2018: Lecture free (Christmas)
  14. Monday, 31.12.2018: Lecture free (Christmas)
  15. Monday, 07.01.2019: MPI + X (Hunold)
  16. Monday, 14.01.2019: Libraries and Benchmarks in HPC (Hunold)
  17. Monday, 21.01.2019: Project presentations
  18. Monday, 28.01.2019: Lecture free (exam week)

Exercises/projects

Project assignments will be announced during the semester and will be made available on TUWEL.

Additional references and literature